

THE MANAWATU CAR CLUB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the 75th Annual General Meeting of the Members of The Manawatu Car Club (Incorporated) Held at The Feilding Civic Centre, 84 Aorangi Road, Feilding. Wednesday 8th February 2023 at 7.30pm

The Club President welcomed members to the 75th Annual General Meeting

- 1. Apologies: Peter Beauchamp, Ben Boyden, Dion Walker, Murray Starnes, Kaye Flannagan.
- 2. Valedictory: Neil Deighton and Gary McKelvie. Special mention was made of Sue Lobb, ex-Manfeild groundskeeper. The meeting stood for a moment's silence.
- 3. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 74th Annual General Meeting. Secretary Jeff Braid summarised the minutes to the meeting. Motion to confirm the minutes of the 74th Annual General Meeting moved by Malcolm Glen, seconded by Brian Davies. Carried.
- 4. The Consideration and Adoption of the President's Report. In Richie Arber's lengthy report, he particularly thanked 75th Anniversary Committee for their huge effort in planning and managing all the 75th Anniversary events. COVID restrictions forced us to delay Round 4 of the Winter Series to October and cancel several major meetings due to lockdowns in the Auckland-Waikato region, leaving us with a challenging financial start to the year. Other mentions were the installation of the new flag points on Manfeild: Circuit Chris Amon, additional events due to the cancellation of CD Field Days, the return of the NZ Super Truck Championship in April and the success of the 75th Anniversary Winter Series. Membership is at an all-time high with 481 members. Entries were up for Open Day sprints and Back-Track Autocrosses. Drift events progressed throughout the year with strong entry growth. Richie conducted a full review of our assets, including the MCC Clubrooms. He will explore all options with key stakeholders that will best benefit the Club with the support of the Committee. Richie also listed the successes of some of our members on the national and international motorsport stage. He ended with an aim to improve the experience of all who attend our events in 2023. Special thanks were given to Club Secretary Jeff Braid and Kathy Gibson and the Manfeild Park Trust Team. Motion to adopt the President's Report moved by Richie Arber, seconded by Steve Bond. Richie asked for Questions. Richard Bosselman asked if we are likely to make use of the clubrooms in
 - future. Richie Arber replies that was one of the options to be considered.
 - Ross Thurston asked for the earthquake rating. Richie Arber replied 20% of the Building Code. Price to meet the Code? \$180-220k.
- 5. The Consideration and Adoption of the Annual Statement of Accounts.

The Balance Sheet and the Auditor's Report was tabled (a copy can be requested). Tim Wilde summarised the reports noting a small net profit despite the difficult trading environment. Motion to adopt the Annual Statement of Accounts moved by Tim Wilde, seconded by Greg Browne. Carried.

6. Election of Officers of the Club as prescribed by the Constitution.

The Offices of

- Patron: No new patrons.
- Honorary Solicitor: Barry Britten has retired from practice. Motion to appoint Ashley Muir from Cooper Rapley Law moved by Tim Wilde, seconded by Brian Davies. Carried
- Appointment of Auditor: Tim Wilde moved that the current auditors Cotton Kelly Smit Ltd be retained, seconded by Vern Marshall. Carried
- Election of Vice President: (Vice President Term ends at 77th AGM. 2-year term as per article 9.4 of the constitution) Tim Wilde was elected unopposed.
- Committee Members: (Maximum of 10. One year term) 10 nominations. Duly elected:
- 7. Setting of Subscriptions: Steve Bond moved that all subscriptions should be doubled. He was howled down by the meeting, had no seconder and the motion was abandoned. Richie Arber moved that the subscription fees remain the same, seconded by Tim Wilde. Carried.
- 8. Award of Merit: Richie Arber recounted the serious medical event involving a driver in Round 2 of the 75th Anniversary Winter Series. Due to the outstanding actions of the entire Volunteer Force, ProMed medical Team and Dr Bruce Stewart, it was decided that the Award of Merit be awarded to the whole team in recognition of their exemplary conduct. Noel Beal accepted on behalf of the team. The award will be permanently displayed at the clubrooms or some other prominent location for all to view.
- 9. Life Members: listed. No new life members.
- 10. Farland Award. Mark Whale. Rescue Chief Noel Beale outlined Mark's contribution to the rescue team. He has voluntarily provided a wide range of vehicles and equipment over the years that have enhanced the performance of the rescue marshals. He presented the award to Mark 'Nemo' Whale.
- 11. General Business
 - No general business

The meeting closed at 8:32pm.

R Arber President February 2023