

2025 Fielding Auto Electrical Winter Series Manawatu Car Club Classic Series Rules

Similar to the event entry policy of the Goodwood Members Meeting, the Manawatu Car Club wishes to invite the cars not just the drivers.

We are wanting to re-create those early days of Manfeild: Circuit Chris Amon from 1973 to 1995 with cars that resemble those that raced in and around that era.

The series is designed to promote clean, 'gentlemanly' racing with authentic-looking classic cars that the public can easily relate to. We are after cars 'with a story'.

The Series is loosely based on the Classic & Thoroughbred rules in the Motorsport NZ National Sporting Code for modified Classic Saloon and GT vehicles. In our case only cars manufactured before 31 December 1995 (30 years) will be eligible.

There will be two race classes and two trophies:

- Classic cars which will compete for the Classics Cup and
- Saloon Trophy cars which will compete for the Saloon Trophy.

Classic Cars will be permitted authentic period modifications from their era. Saloon Trophy cars may run modern engines but must retain their classic appearance.

Manawatu Car Club Classics Series Committee:

- Richie Arber
- Tim Wilde
- Nick Stewart
- Greg Browne
- Jodie Bell
- Jeff Braid

Drivers are invited to apply to join the Classics grid. The Committee will consider their car's story and reserves the right to accept or reject their entry into the Classics Series.

A driver may apply to join the Manawatu Car Club Classics Series with a car meets all but the age eligibility criteria, but they will not be eligible for points.

Vehicle Eligibility: All Cars

• Saloons and GTs manufactured prior to 31 December 1995.

- Exterior: Vehicles must be smartly maintained with all factory exterior trim in place including headlamps, taillights, grills and bumpers. Replica parts may be used provided they closely resemble the original factory items.
- Non-period aerodynamic aids such as splitters, rear spoilers or flared guards are not permitted.
- Replica race-car liveries that reflect the pre-96 era are highly encouraged.
- Interior: must be clean and tidily painted. Front seats may be replaced with recognised competition seats.
- Gearbox: Sequential-shift gearboxes are not permitted, otherwise gearboxes are free.
- Clutch: Free
- Differential: Free
- Suspension: Free provided the original suspension type is retained (eg. McPherson Struts, live rear axle)
- Brakes: Free
- Wheels: Free provided that the desired 'authentic look' is respected
- Tyres: Free

Engines: Classic Cars

- Original engines may be substituted for another engine but only one with the same number of cylinders as originally produced and only from the same manufacturer's range and manufactured during the same era.
- All other internal engine modifications are free except you must retain carburettors if the car was originally produced with them (you may upgrade these) or the original fuel injection systems.
- Turbo and supercharged vehicles are allowed only if they were original equipment. Turbocharger and Supercharger units may not be substituted for later model units. A supercharger may not be replaced with a turbocharger or vice-versa.
- Rotary powered vehicles are allowed but are restricted to the original version of engine as fitted when new to the vehicle range: 10A, 12A, 13B, 20B
- The capacity of forced induction engines and rotary engines will be classified according to Schedule A Part One 3.5 Equivalence Factors

Engines: Saloon Trophy Cars

- Original engines may be substituted for modern engines but only with the same number of cylinders/rotors as originally produced and from the same manufacturers range. (e.g. Ford Escort with a Ford Mondeo 4-cylinder Duratec engine; Holden Commodore with an 8cylinder GM engine).
- Modern turbo and supercharged engine upgrades are allowed, but only if the vehicle was originally manufactured with a turbo or supercharger.
- Rotary engine powered vehicles are allowed but only if the vehicle was originally manufactured with a rotary engine.

Race Numbers:

Race numbers will be accepted at entry and will remain so for the Series. If there is a double-up of numbers the first entry received takes precedence.

Race Format:

The Manawatu Car Club Classic Race Series will run the following race format:

- 10 minutes Qualifying
- 6 laps Handicap set by the official timekeeper based on fastest lap time in Qualifying
- 6 laps Handicap set by the official timekeeper based on fastest lap time of the day
- 6 laps Handicap set by the official timekeeper based on fastest lap time of the day

Fastest Lap Time:

The fastest allowable lap time is 1:18.00. Anyone exceeding this time in qualifying and races will be subject to breakout penalties. Anyone exceeding this time by more than one(1) second will be asked to join GT Cup.

Breakout Penalties:

If you qualify faster than the break-out lap time of 1:18.00 you will automatically lose 50 championship points.

If you go faster than the break-out lap time in any of the 3 races during the day, the following penalty will apply:

For each lap faster by **0 – 1.000** seconds in any one race, a penalty of **10 seconds** will be added to your total race time

Determining the Winner of Classics Cup and The Saloon Trophy

The drivers with the most accumulated points over the four rounds of the Winter Series will be declared the winners of Classics Cup and Saloon Trophy respectively.

In the event of a tie the winner will be determined by Schedule Z 11.6 Ties in Championships, Cups, Trophies or Series.

1st	75	11th	30	21st	10
2nd	67	12th	28	22nd	9
3rd	60	13th	26	23rd	8
4th	54	14th	24	24th	7
5th	49	15th	22	25th	6
6th	45	16th	20	26th	5
7th	42	17th	18	27th	4
8th	39	18th	16	28th	3
9th	36	19th	14	29th	2
10th	33	20th	12	30th	1

Series Points Table:

The Manawatu Car Club acknowledges the support of class sponsors BT Advisory Ltd and Max Tarr Ltd

